Hilf Osman in Cambridge zu studieren

  • €170.00
    raised of €9,000.00 goal
1% Funded
3 Donors
Raised offline: €3,100.00
Total: €3,270.00

No more donations are being accepted at this time. Please contact the campaign owner if you would like to discuss further funding opportunities

Show more
Show less

Hallo, mein Name ist Osman und ich bin 24 Jahre alt. Zurzeit arbeite ich als Englischlehrer im östlichen Teil der Türkei. Meine Leidenschaft ist die Bewertung der englischen Sprache. In diesem Sommer hat die Universität Cambridge einen neuen Master-Studiengang eingeführt, der auf diesen Bereich spezialisiert ist.

Als ich davon erfuhr, habe ich mich sofort beworben. Vor zwei Monaten hatte ich ein Vorstellungsgespräch. Ich war nervös und aufgeregt zugleich. Dann geschah das Unerwartete. Letzten Freitag erhielt ich ein Angebot von Cambridge.

Jetzt bin ich dabei Geld für meine Studiengebühren zu sammeln, damit ich das Angebot der Universität Cambridge für das Masterstudium English Language Assessment annehmen kann. Ich muss Cambridge nachweisen, dass ich £ 10.000 für meine Studiengebühren für das erste Jahr zur Verfügung habe - andernfalls wird mein Angebot zurückgezogen, und ich werde meinen Studienplatz verlieren.

Ich bin unglaublich dankbar für jede noch so kleine oder große Spende.

Es würde mir auch sehr viel bedeuten, wenn Sie meine GoGetFunding-Seite mit Leuten in Ihrem Netzwerk teilen würden, um mir zu helfen, meine Kampagne bekannt zu machen :)

AKZEPTANZMAIL-SCREENSHOT

Im weiteren Abschnitt erläutere ich meine Absichten für das Masterstudium English Language Assessment. Um dies zu erreichen, spreche ich über meine Erfahrungen und erklären, warum ich mich so sehr für diesen Studiengang interessiere und warum ich glaube, dass die Universität Cambridge mit ihrer reichen Geschichte und kulturellen Vielfalt die ultimative Lernumgebung ist, von der ich profitieren kann.

WARUM ICH IHRE HILFE BRAUCHE

  • Stipendien sind für türkische Staatsbürger meist nicht verfügbar
  • Derzeit bin ich Lehrer im Osten der Türkei. Ein Lehrer verdient etwa 400 Pfund im Monat, was es unmöglich macht, sich eine Ausbildung wie diese zu leisten.
  • Ich habe keine finanzielle Unterstützung von meinen Familienmitgliedern oder anderen Personen.
  • In der Türkei muss ein Lehrer für das Unterrichtsmaterial selbst aufkommen und erhält keinerlei Unterstützung für Schreibwaren (wir müssen sogar für Putzmittel, Essen und Tee auf der Arbeit bezahlen).

Um die Studiengebühren für das zweite Jahr aufzubringen, suche ich nach einem vielversprechenderen Jobangebot und hoffe, das Geld selbst aufbringen zu können. Für das erste Jahr habe ich nur noch 40 Tage Zeit, dann muss ich vorweisen, dass ich die Studiengebühr bezahlen kann. Deshalb brauche ich dringen Hilfe, um das Angebot der Universität annehmen zu können.

Bis Ende Dezember 2021 muss ich eine Studiengebühr von £ 10.000 für das erste Jahr zur Verfügung haben. Außerdem muss ich ein Visum beantragen, einen Flug nach Großbritannien buchen und eine Unterkunft finden, um mit dem Studium beginnen zu können. Dafür kalkuliere ich £ 2.000 und hoffe, dass ich damit vorerst Fuß fassen kann.


WARUM ICH LANGUAGE ASSESSMENT STUDIEREN MÖCHTE

Alles begann, als ich an einem Teilzeitprojekt mit einem Universitätsprofessor in meinem Land teilnahm. Wir waren nur zwei Personen, als wir anfingen, und unser Ziel war es, die akademischen Veröffentlichungen im Bereich des englischen Sprachunterrichts zu recherchieren und zu versuchen, eine authentische Arbeit zu erstellen, die in der Sprachwissenschaft nützlich sein würde. Dann stießen einige andere Mitglieder zu unserer Gruppe, und jeder von uns war für einen anderen Themenbereich zuständig. Wir haben akademische und wissenschaftliche Ressourcen gescannt und daraus Präsentationen vorbereitet.

Der Teil, für den ich zuständig war, war Sprachtests und -bewertung. Dies ist eines der Kernelemente der Sprachwissenschaften. Das Hauptziel dieser Disziplin ist es, bessere Wege zu finden, um die Fähigkeiten der Sprachlernenden im Umgang mit der Sprache zu bewerten und sie richtig anzuleiten, damit sie ihr volles Potenzial nutzen können. Sie ist deshalb so wichtig, weil jede Sprachlernreise mit einer Bewertung beginnt und mit einer Bewertung endet. Es ist ein Tor, das jeder Lernende fast unendlich oft durchläuft.

Ich glaube, dass die Sprachbewertung die Lösung für die Probleme des Sprachenlernens in der modernen Welt sein kann, in der es nicht gleiche Chancen für alle gibt und viele Lernende aufgrund mangelnder Zugänglichkeit und finanzieller Möglichkeiten kein Englisch lernen können.

Wenn ich in Cambridge studieren kann, werde ich eine bessere Lösung für die Sprachbewertung für alle Englischlernenden auf der ganzen Welt anbieten, unabhängig von ihrer ethnischen Zugehörigkeit, Religion, Kultur, finanziellen Situation und natürlich auch von Behinderungen. Jeder kann eine Sprache billiger, schneller und auf die effizienteste Weise lernen. Die Barrieren, mit denen Lernende konfrontiert sind, könnten dank der Innovationen, die im Bereich der Sprachbewertung durchgeführt werden, der Vergangenheit angehören.

Es handelt sich um ein Thema, das sich seit einigen Jahrzehnten in der Entwicklung befindet, und der Bedarf an Experten in diesem Bereich steigt erheblich. Die Universität Cambridge hat soeben einen Kurs angekündigt, der diesen Bedarf in der Welt decken soll. Cambridge ist derzeit einer der wenigen Orte, an denen dieser Kurs angeboten wird. Ich möchte mich an dieser großen Aufgabe beteiligen und die Welt zu einem besseren Ort machen, an dem alle Menschen Sprachen lernen und ohne Hindernisse miteinander kommunizieren können.


ÜBER MEINE BISHERIGEN ERFAHRUNGEN

Ich habe an der Hacettepe-Universität in Ankara, Türkei Englisch studiert und mich mit den theoretischen Grundlagen des SLA vertraut gemacht. Ich belegte Kurse zu Themen wie "junge Lernende", "Materialentwicklung" und "Linguistik". Am meisten interessierten mich 'CALL' und 'Language Testing and Assessment'. Ich wurde darüber unterrichtet, wie Technologie in den Materialentwicklungsprozess implementiert werden kann und wie sie die Qualität von Bewertungssystemen beeinflusst, indem sie diese beschleunigt. Als Lehramtsanwärter hatte ich die Möglichkeit, eine universalistische Perspektive einzunehmen, in der alle Themen der Sprachwissenschaften miteinander verbunden sind.

Später nahm ich an einem Projekt teil, bei dem eine Gruppe von Leuten unter der Leitung eines Professors verschiedene Teilbereiche des ESL untersuchte, und ich wählte English Language Assessment. Unser Ziel war es, eine akademische Studie durchzuführen, die im wirklichen Leben hilfreich sein würde. Ich habe Koprivas (2007) gelesen und festgestellt, dass Sprachenvielfalt ein sehr wichtiges Problem ist. Nach der Lektüre des Buches von Chapelle & Douglas (2006) kam mir der Gedanke, dass die Anpassung neuer Technologien an Testsysteme den Prozess erleichtern könnte. Ich verbrachte einige Zeit damit, die Idee der lokalisierten Bewertung in verschiedenen Kulturen zu erforschen.

Um praktische Erfahrungen zu sammeln, arbeitete ich in einem Start-up-Unternehmen, wo ich mit der Entwicklung von Materialien und der Beratung zur Verbesserung einer Sprach-App betraut war. Ich arbeitete mit Software-Ingenieuren zusammen und bekam eine Vorstellung davon, wie Technologie im Bildungsbereich eingesetzt wird. Ich habe auch als Englischlehrer an einer Privatschule gearbeitet, und wir wurden von Experten von Cambridge Assessment für eine Schulung über Sprachtests besucht.

Ich danke Ihnen für Ihre Zeit und Ihre Hilfe. Des weiteren werde ich regelmäßige Updates veröffentlichen, um Sie auf dem aktuellen Stand zu halten.

Organizer

Donors

  • Anonymous
  • Donated on Nov 25, 2021
Amount Hidden
  • Osman Kadan
  • Donated on Nov 25, 2021
  • I know you are tired but come This is the way. Rumi Stay persistent. Greetings xox

€20.00
  • Anonymous
  • Donated on Nov 20, 2021
  • Go go go Osman

Amount Hidden

Donors & Comments

3 donors
  • Anonymous
  • Donated on Nov 25, 2021
Amount Hidden
  • Osman Kadan
  • Donated on Nov 25, 2021
  • I know you are tired but come This is the way. Rumi Stay persistent. Greetings xox

€20.00
  • Anonymous
  • Donated on Nov 20, 2021
  • Go go go Osman

Amount Hidden

Followers

3 followers
ali ihsan elmas
Nina Druckenthaner
Magdalena Pfefferkorn

Support Campaigns

campaigns

Create a support campaign in seconds!

Support campaigns allow you to get your own fundraising page dedicated to 'Hilf Osman in Cambridge zu studieren'

You'll have your own unique link that you can share, and all funds raised will go directly to 'Hilf Osman in Cambridge zu studieren'. It's the ultimate way to show your support!

Create support campaign
€170.00
raised of €9,000.00 goal
1% Funded
3 Donors
Raised offline: €3,100.00
Total: €3,270.00

No more donations are being accepted at this time. Please contact the campaign owner if you would like to discuss further funding opportunities

Help Osman to study at Cambridge

  • €170.00
    raised of €9,000.00 goal
1% Funded
3 Donors
Raised offline: €3,100.00
Total: €3,270.00

No more donations are being accepted at this time. Please contact the campaign owner if you would like to discuss further funding opportunities

Show more
Show less

Hi, my name is Osman and I am 24 years old. I am currently working as an English teacher in the eastern part of Turkey. My passion is English Language Assessment. This summer, the University of Cambridge launched a new master’s degree specializing in this field.

When I found out about it, I immediately applied. Two months ago I had an interview. I was nervous and excited at the same time. Then, the unexpected happened. Last Friday, I received a conditional offer from Cambridge.

Now, I am raising money for my tuition fees to allow me to take up the offer from the University of Cambridge to study MSt in English Language Assessment. I have to provide Cambridge with evidence that I have £ 10,000 for my tuition fees for the first year available – otherwise, my offer will be withdrawn, and I will lose my place.

I am incredibly grateful for each and every donation, however big or small.

It would also mean the world to me if you would share my GoGetFunding page with people in your network to help me get the word out about my campaign. :)


ACCEPTANCE MAIL SCREENSHOT


I hope to present you with my intentions for studying the Master in English Language Assessment. To achieve this, I would like to talk about my experiences, explain why I am so passionate about this course and why I believe Cambridge University, with its rich history and cultural diversity, is the ultimate learning environment I can benefit from.


WHY I NEED YOUR HELP

  • Scholarships are not available for Turkish citizens most of the time
  • Currently I am a teacher in eastern Turkey. A teacher earns around £ 400 a month, which makes it impossible to afford an education like this
  • I don’t have any financial support from my family members or anyone else
  • In Turkey, a teacher has to provide the teaching materials and is not supported for any kind of stationary (Well, we even have to pay for cleaning materials, food and tea at work :)

To provide the tuition fee for the second year I am looking for a more promising job offer and hope to raise the money myself. To gain the money for the first year I have only 40 days left.

To take up the offer from the University I need help to provide Cambridge with evidence that I have £ 10,000 for my tuition fee for the first year available by the end of December 2021. Besides I need to apply for Visa, book a flight to the UK, find accommodation to get started. For that I calculate £ 2,000 and hope I can set foot.


WHY I WANT TO STUDY LANGUAGE ASSESSMENT

Everything started when I participated in a part-time project with a university professor in my country. We were only two people when we started, and our purpose was to research and read the academic publications in English Language Teaching area and try to create an authentic work that would be useful in language sciences. Then, we had some other members joining in our group, and each one of us was responsible for different areas of subject. We scanned academic and scientific resources and prepared presentations out of them.

The part I was responsible for was Language Testing and Assessment. It is one of the core elements of language sciences. The main goal of this discipline is to find better ways to assess language learners’ ability of using the language and guide them properly to have them use their full potential in the process. The reason it is so important is the fact that every language learning journey starts with assessment and ends with assessment. It is a gateway each learner passes through almost infinitely.

I believe that Language Assessment can be the solution to the language learning problems of the modern world, in which there are not equal opportunities for all, and many learners cannot learn English due to the lack of accessibility and financial abilities.

If I can study in Cambridge, I will offer a better solution for language assessment for all the learners of English around the world, regardless of their ethnicity, religion, culture, financial situation and of course, handicaps. Everyone can learn a language cheaper, faster, and in the most efficient way. The barriers learners have might no longer be an issue, thanks to the innovations that will be done in Language Assessment.

It is a topic that is in development for the last few decades, and the need for experts in it emerges significantly. The University of Cambridge has just announced the course for meeting this need in the world. Cambridge is one of the only places right now to take this course. I want to take part in this grand quest and change the world to be a better place where all the people can learn languages and communicate with each other without obstacles.


ABOUT MY EXPERIENCE SO FAR

I studied English Language Teaching in Hacettepe University and comprehended the theoretical basis of SLA. I took courses on themes like ‘young learners’, ‘material development’ and ‘linguistics’. I was mostly drawn by ‘CALL’ and ‘Language Testing and Assessment’. I was instructed on how technology can be implemented into material development process and affects the quality of assessment systems by speeding them up. As a teacher candidate, I had the chance to look from a universalistic perspective where all the topics in language sciences are interconnected.

Later, I took part in a project where a group of people led by a professor studied different sub-parts of ESL and I selected English Language Assessment. Our purpose was to conduct an academic study which would be helpful in real life. I read Kopriva’s (2007) book and noticed that language diversity is a very important problem. Having read Chapelle & Douglas’ (2006) book, I started to think the adaptation of new technologies to testing systems may ease the process. I spent some time to research on the idea of localized assessment in different cultures.

To gain expertise in the practical area, I worked in a tech startup where I was assigned to develop materials and give consultation on how to improve a language app. I teamed up with software engineers and got an idea on how technology is being used in education. I also worked as an English teacher in a private school, and we were visited by experts from Cambridge Assessment for a training about language testing.

Thank you for your time and help. Furthermore, I will post regular updates to keep you up to date.

Organizer

Donors

  • Anonymous
  • Donated on Nov 25, 2021
Amount Hidden
  • Osman Kadan
  • Donated on Nov 25, 2021
  • I know you are tired but come This is the way. Rumi Stay persistent. Greetings xox

€20.00
  • Anonymous
  • Donated on Nov 20, 2021
  • Go go go Osman

Amount Hidden
Jan 09

My master's program started

Update posted by Osman Kadan at 04:01 pm

Hello guys,the last 5 weeks were kind of nerve racking. I was looking for options to fund my education and it was very difficult. Cambridge offered me to pay the tuition fee in 8 separate rates and thanks to private donations I was able to pay the first rate a. . . . .

See update
0
Nov 20

First Donation! / College Admission

Update posted by Osman Kadan at 11:03 am

The first donation on the campaign arrived - Thank you so much!I am currently waiting for the confirmation letter of admission for my chosen college - Homerton CollegeMore updates will be following soon!

See update
0

Donors & Comments

3 donors
  • Anonymous
  • Donated on Nov 25, 2021
Amount Hidden
  • Osman Kadan
  • Donated on Nov 25, 2021
  • I know you are tired but come This is the way. Rumi Stay persistent. Greetings xox

€20.00
  • Anonymous
  • Donated on Nov 20, 2021
  • Go go go Osman

Amount Hidden

Followers

3 followers
ali ihsan elmas
Nina Druckenthaner
Magdalena Pfefferkorn

Support Campaigns

campaigns

Create a support campaign in seconds!

Support campaigns allow you to get your own fundraising page dedicated to 'Help Osman to study at Cambridge'

You'll have your own unique link that you can share, and all funds raised will go directly to 'Help Osman to study at Cambridge'. It's the ultimate way to show your support!

Create support campaign
€170.00
raised of €9,000.00 goal
1% Funded
3 Donors
Raised offline: €3,100.00
Total: €3,270.00

No more donations are being accepted at this time. Please contact the campaign owner if you would like to discuss further funding opportunities