Help! FEMA just Denied my Application for Hurricane Irma Relief! “FEMA did What?”

Update posted by Pamela Johnson On Sep 24, 2017

Hello everyone,

I am a Single Mother of 4 Children and grandmother to Sofi. I served in Afghanistan 2002-2003 on CVN71. I was injured and have been on VA Disability ever since. I'm a member of #WoundedWarriers & #DVA.

I rent my home & don't have any assets. I live off my fixed budget from VA Compensation. My twin sister also lives with me and she is disabled & receives SSI. She is on Oxygen 24/7 with end stages of COPD & Emphysema.

A couple of months ago my youngest daughter total my only car and the insurance did not pay for it. I had been saving up for badly needed used car. I had about $2000 and I was searching Facebook for one.

Then #HurricaneIrma hit us. I live on the outskirts of Orlando, in Apopka Florida. I had to use the $2000 that I saved up to buy a car with, so I could prepare and live through the hurricane. The Hurricane Eye ran right over top of us. Our power was out for about a week.

I also need medical help but didn't have money to go to emergency room. I dropped our generator on my right foot and I have a rash/hives all over my body that hasn't gone away. I was waiting for the Individual Disaster Funds so I could see a doctor.

I got a letter yesterday that says I don't qualify for Medical or Housing Assistance because I didn’t incur enough damages. It might only be $2000 but it was all I had in this world.

Below is what I spent because of the storm.

$600 Generator
$335 Car Rental (7th-12th)
$120 Window AC
$102 Gas
$ 50 Coffee Table Broke
$400 Air Purifier (Traci)
$150 Food Loss
$100 Window Repair
$250 Tree Debris Removal
$ 50 Back Splash Kitchen

So, I am asking all my Veteran Friends and whoever else would like to help? Please, Send like $1 or $5. I really need a car and to keep some food in the house.

Add a Comment

Add a Comment

photo

Pamela Johnson

send a message

No Followers Just Yet...

Not Ready to Donate?

Did you know a 10 second Facebook share raises an average of $25?

Share on