Help Brandon Get An Apartment

  • US$5.00
    raised of $5,000.00 goal
0% Funded
1 Donors
Raised offline: $5.00
Total: $10.00
Help this ongoing fundraising campaign by making a donation and spreading the word.
Show more
Show less

Hi my name is Brandon and this is my story.

I am 23 years old, I was born in Cape Town South Africa but I moved to Durban at the age of 6 and I lived there until I graduated high school. I have two younger brothers with whom I do not share a dad, they are 12 and 14 years old.

I graduated high school with a Bachelor pass and a distinction in Mathematical literacy, I pride myself in my high school results as I was told by my stepfather that I would amount to nothing so it felt good proving him wrong.

When I graduated high school I had to move out and I couldn’t study further so I found a job and was trained as the store manager of a liquor store and I worked there for two years until the company was sold.

I then moved to Pretoria in September 2019 with the savings I had to look for another job, shortly after that I found a job as a bartender and I worked for a couple of months with no pay but the club closed down because it went bankrupt.

At this point my savings were running low and I couldn’t ask my family for help but my girlfriend suggested I stay with her, she is a university student and was staying at an apartment, I stayed with her while still looking for a job..

In 2020 I still hadn’t found a job and things just went downhill when the pandemic hit so I was unemployed the entire time but I finally got a job in August of 2020. I worked there for over 6 months and never got paid.

It was a commission based job and I couldn’t make any sales because of the pandemic people do not have money. So I worked everyday including overtime trying to make a living but it didn’t pay off.

My girlfriend had to move back to her parents house as they couldn’t pay another year of rent for 2021 so when she left she paid for one extra months rent just so I could stay and try finding another job but I couldn’t so I got kicked out of the apartment. I can’t go back to my parents house because my stepfather doesn’t want me there and my mom has no say because she doesn’t work. Nor can I stay at my girlfriends house because of space and it’s against her family’s culture for a boyfriend to stay over. Although her family does try to help me in other ways.

For the second time in my life I was homeless, I spent a few nights on the streets and I got robbed and most of my possessions were taken including the little money I had to buy food. I went a couple of days being hungry but finally found a homeless shelter

I did however come to know that the shelter will be closing soon because they are running low on funds. And I am literally stuck with no idea what to do, as I’ve been applying for jobs with no luck.

I am doing this fundraiser because I do not know what else to do. Whatever money I raise will go straight into paying the whole year’s rent for an apartment and the remainder will buy some clothes so I can look more presentable when I go job hunting.

I truly appreciate you taking your time to read this, whether or not you’re able to donate. I appreciate your efforts, thank you 🕯

Organizer

  • Brandon Jorssen
  •  
  • Campaign Owner

No updates for this campaign just yet

Donors & Comments

1 donors

Followers

2 followers
Robyn Bailey
Tajana Phoenix Claire
US$5.00
raised of $5,000.00 goal
0% Funded
1 Donors
Raised offline: $5.00
Total: $10.00

Help this ongoing fundraising campaign by making a donation and spreading the word.

Not Ready to Donate?

Did you know a 10 second Facebook share raises an average of $25?

Share on Facebook